“Most women, regardless of size, have a fat girl who lives inside her” — author @LeighCarron talks about her book FAT GIRL

lc-fg-cover-front-midI am thrilled to host author Leigh Carron today to celebrate the launch of FAT GIRL, her debut novel and the first of the Perfectly Imperfect series. I was fortunate enough to beta read this passionate and gripping story and I’m eager to readers to get into Dee and Mick’s story.

About FAT GIRL: Years after fleeing small-town Springvale, Illinois, Deanna Chase has picked up the pieces of her shattered heart and built a new life for herself as a child advocacy lawyer. Her food addiction is quasi under control, her secrets are buried, and she has even made a tenuous peace with her plus-size body. Until…

Micah Peters—the very sexy and now famous man she fled— walks through her office door and sends Dee reeling. His demand that she help a young boy caught in a custody battle will reunite her with the past she left behind. Torn between duty and self-preservation, Dee isn’t easy to convince.

But when obligation wins, the former lovers get more than they bargained for—a searing passion that burns hotter than ever and startling revelations about whatreally happened the fateful night she left.

Will the truth set Dee free to love again? Or will past hurts and lingering insecurities destine her to walk away from her heart again, this time for good?

FAT GIRL is the first book in this provocative two-part series about love and self-
acceptance.

Buy the ebook! Amazon US | Amazon CA | Smashwords

About Leigh: An American living in Canada. Chocolate snob. Recovering yo-yo dieter. Devoted mom and wife, blessed with a brilliantly witty daughter and unintentionally humorous husband. My wacky family feed my creativity and fuel my passion. Most nights, you will find me either curled up with a great book or, more often, sitting at my computer, tapping out the countless visions in my head. To me, there’s nothing better in a narrative than perfectly flawed but strong characters and intense romance that is sexy, deep, and sensual. Mm…I liken such stories to a box of Godiva. Decadent and delicious! You can’t stop at just one. In fact, I’m now hard at work on my next novel—A Naked Beauty, the conclusion to Fat Girl.

Follow Leigh: Website | Facebook Twitter 

Thank you so much to Leigh for joining me today to answer a few questions about her novel.

What has the response been to your title, Fat Girl?

A little of everything. From, “Hm…interesting, I wonder what that’s about” to “You’re not really going to call your book that, are you?” Yeah, I really am. Fat is an adjective that offends because we give the word so much power. Unfortunately, most women, regardless of size, have a fat girl who lives inside her. It’s the voice that tells us we’re not skinny enough or perfect enough. Fat Girl is a romance, but it’s also a story about self acceptance.

How were the main characters first born?

They just came to me. As weird as that sounds, that’s the way it is for me. The stories, the characters, take root in my imagination and flow from there. I guide some of it, because my imagination can quickly spin out of control. But for the most part, I go with the flow.

So going with the flow, I understand that you went on a journey with Dee and Mick and their story lead you down unexpected paths. What surprised you most about following their (fictional) hearts?

That was the fun of it, not knowing exactly where the characters would lead me. Without spoiling any of the plots, I guess what surprised me the most was how profoundly their childhood demons impacted their relationship (both their teenage relationship and their adult one). And the decisions they made; good and bad, right and wrong. There’s this great quote from the movie, Hope Floats: “Childhood is what you spend the rest of your life overcoming.” That definitely plays out in Dee and Mick’s relationship.

How do you relate to the main heroine, Dee? What parts do you not identify with?

I understand her struggles with weight, food and body image. I get what it’s like not to feel beautiful or lovable, regardless of how much love I had around me. However, it did not have the same impact in my life that it’s had in Dee’s. She’s much more reserved and skittish than I am. She closed herself off to others for a long time and lived in a shadow. I’m out there. I have tried hard not to let body issues impact the quality of my life or relationships. Self acceptance is still a journey…but I’ve gotten to a pretty good place.

What do you hope readers take away from your book?

On the entertainment side, I hope readers will find Fat Girl, steamy and romantic with relatable, well-developed characters and interesting plots. On a deeper level, I hope readers will learn through Dee’s fictional journey that there is no one size that makes you beautiful, sexy, lovable or worthy.

Leave a Reply

