Delusion and deception: Year of the Snake Blog Hop!

yearofthesnakeAccording to fortune tellers, this year of the snake will bring change and tumult. As part of the Year of the Snake Blog Hop organized by the marvellous Wendy S. Russo, participants must find a passage in their work that embodies the spirit of the snake: a symbol of wisdom and cunning, but also delusion and deception.

In What Kills Me, the society of vampires is all about deceit. Zee trusts all the wrong people. And it always ends in death:

“You’re a sweet girl,” he whispered.

He brushed a strand of hair from my face, his finger tips tracing a soft line across my forehand and down my cheek. I became shy and showed him the top of my head. He lifted my chin so that we met eyes, our faces inches apart.

I had stopped breathing. I felt like at any moment, I would melt into the floor. As he leaned in, I fixated on his parted lips and I felt his hand slip around my waist. I thought he was going to kiss my forehead. Instead, he rested the side of his mouth against my temple and whispered in my ear.

“Zee?”

“Yes,” I said, breathlessly.

“Now that I have you here all alone, what do you think I’m going to do to you?”

His voice was low, his breath cool. I swallowed. “What?”

“I’m going to kill you.”

Buy What Kills Me

Amazon US | Amazon UK | B&N | Kobo | iTunes | Goodreads

Here’s a list of all of the participating authors in the Year of the Snake blog hop! Check them out!
Katie O’Sullivan
Raven Bower
Cindy Young-Turner
Rebecca Trogner
Lindsey Loucks
Sue Ann Bowling
SM Boyce
Constance Phillips
Stephan E. Train
Stevie Carroll
Kelly Seguin
Wynne Channing
Rebecca Hamilton
Sherry Soule
Renee Reardon
Wendy S. Russo

4 thoughts on “Delusion and deception: Year of the Snake Blog Hop!

Leave a Reply

