How my self-published book became a Canadian best seller in six months

melissapart2web

Part Two of my publishing feature in the National Post is out today! In case you missed it, here’s Part One which details my preparation of the manuscript.

A reminder: I’m hosting a live-blog discussion about self-publishing on Monday, December 17 at 10:30 a.m. EST with:

Tina Folsom: Her 16 self-published romance novels have sold more than 500,000 copies and made $1.5 million since 2010.

Mark Lefebvre: Mark is an author and director of self-publishing and author relations at Kobo Inc.

Steve Vernon: His young adult novel, Sinking Deeper: My Questionable (Possibly Heroic) Decision to Invent a Sea Monster is #16 on Quill & Quire’s top 20 bestselling children’s books in Canada. His e-book serial, Flash Virus, is available on Kobo and Kindle.

Please tune in on Monday and engage in the conversation!

WIthout further ado, my publishing feature:

After I clicked “publish” on Amazon’s Kindle Direct Publishing program, I sat back and waited for my life to change.

It was as if I thought self-publishing my teen vampire novel, What Kills Me, would be transformative: kind of like when Prince Adam raises his sword and becomes He-Man. Following six months of writing and spending about $2,000 preparing my ebook for publication, by the power of Amazon, I was now an author.

Except that putting your book for sale on Amazon feels like dropping a single grain into a bag of rice — you need to paint it green or point it out, or else how will anyone distinguish it from the rest? So nothing happened. And I felt no different.

3 thoughts on “How my self-published book became a Canadian best seller in six months

  1. Came across your article randomly in the National Post … what a cool success story! And I really admire how hard you worked to reach bestseller status — it kills me when I hear about authors who publish their book and it just skyrockets in popularity through no effort or design of their own. But you worked your butt off getting where you are today 🙂 It gives me hope that I’ll achieve a modicum of your success through my own self-publishing adventures. Congrats on your success, and happy holidays!

    • Thank you so much Michelle! Most authors I know are work horses. Even Tina Folsom, who made $1.5-million in two years on her self-published titles, said she works 80 hours a week. Congratulations on completing your novel, Imminent Danger and How to Fly Straight into It. That is a huge feat! Good luck. Enjoy every exciting moment. And if you ever need any advice, etc., email wynne[at]wynnechanning.com. She’s a cool gal. She’ll help you.

      • Tell her she’ll probably be hearing from me sometime in the near future. She definitely sounds like a cool gal 😀 Honestly, the amount of work I know I’ll have to put into publicity is a bit daunting, but I imagine it will all be worth it when I meet a stranger on the street who’s read my book. I’ve got a while to go before I get to that point though, lol.

Leave a Reply

