Magic is its currency: author S.M. Boyce takes us inside her acclaimed Grimoire series

Treason is S.M.Boyce’s highly anticipated sequel to her bestselling novel Lichgates. She’s one of my favourite people and I’m super excited that I got to catch up with her about the latest instalment in the Grimoire Trilogy. She shared some highlights from her writing, lowlights from publishing and everything in between. 

From the pages of Treason

A favorite quote: “Sometimes, ‘impossible’ just means you have to try harder.”

A passage that was challenging to pen: The first paragraph. It’s always hard to open a novel. Actually, I read aloud and recorded the first few pages of the novel for this blog tour, if you want to take a listen. It’s posted it on my website. But here are the first lines of Treason:

In the hidden world of Ourea, there are too many beautiful places to name: rose-covered cliffs tower miles over the valleys and forests below, cities thrive in submerged ecosystems beneath the sea, and the dragons that once ruled volcanoes are now but fossils in a cave. The creatures of human myth flourish in Ourea. Trees are this world’s skyscrapers. Magic is its currency. And while the rest of Earth forgot what it means to dream big, Ourea kept alive its wonder. 

An excerpt that Boyce is proud of writing: Okay, well this is kind of a spoiler. So…I mean, keep that in mind. I wanted to include the end of Chapter 26 (Death) instead of this bit, but it doesn’t have the same effect if it’s read out of context. The end of Chapter 26 is, I think, my favorite part of the book. The effect the rest of the chapter has on its last line makes me smile every time I read it. But here is my second favorite part of the chapter:

“Do you remember asking the Grimoire once if you could bring back the dead?” Death asked.

Kara’s jaw tightened. This was a trap. She didn’t answer.

He continued. “You must know by now that you cannot do such a thing. I will come again for you someday, just as I have come for every living creature since the dawn of time. Today is not your day to die. You may return, but use your second chance at life well. Few ever have this opportunity.” 

Death offered her a giant, red hand. Kara reached for it, but hesitated to examine the crevices in his palm. There were folds, wrinkles, even fingerprints. Death looked so…mortal.

The journey to publication

One of the best things a fan has said: “Boyce, you are the reason I read books by indie authors.”

A publishing pet-peeve: When authors don’t get their books professionally edited before publication. It makes me want to scream. It’s so unprofessional, and I know better from experience.

Mistake you won’t repeat: Not hiring an editor before publication. I wholeheartedly admit that I did this with the first edition of Lichgates, but I quickly realized my mistake and sent it through a rigorous editing process. EVERYONE needs an editor before they hit “Publish”.

Next project: I have a lot in the works. I’ve been building and developing my free online blog for writers: Boyce’s Guide to Writing, which encourages professionalism among authors and teaches others from my mistakes. I frequently host guest posts, list awards for indie authors, and write how-to’s for everything from formatting to writing technique. Please stop by.

I’m also working on Heritage, of course, and the first book in a new series that I will probably release at the same time. The second series is still in the developmental stage, but it’ll be big. It’s a fairytale for a new generation, and my hope is to make it even more epic that the Grimoire Trilogy. Feel free to follow my blog for bookworms to get more updates on that book as well as my other projects.

Plans for tomorrow: Get to work on Heritage. As reviews for Treason come in, I keep getting people telling me it’s “not fair” to make them wait until fall 2013. That is SO awesome to hear. I love it when people get as excited about this series as I am, so I want to see if I can release the finale sooner. HA. Wish me luck.

About Treason: Blood runs thicker…Ourea has always been a deadly place. The lichgates tying the hidden world to Earth keep its creatures at bay—for now. Kara Magari ignited a war when she stumbled into Ourea and found the Grimoire: a powerful artifact filled with secrets. To protect the one person she has left, she strikes a deal that goes against everything she believes in. But things don’t go as planned.

Braeden Drakonin can no longer run from who—and what—he is. He has to face the facts. He’s a prince. He’s a murderer. He’s a wanted man. And after a betrayal that leaves him heartbroken, he’s out for blood. To survive, both Kara and Braeden must become the evil each has grown to hate.

About S. M. Boyce Boyce writes fantasy and paranormal fiction. She’s a sarcastic twit, but she still has friends because some people seem to like that. Her Creative Writing degree qualifies her to serve you french fries, but it helps her write books, too.  She’s currently working on the YA epic fantasy series the Grimoire Trilogy.

Connect with Boyce

Blog | Website | Store | Boyce’s Guide to Writing | Events

Google+ | Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest | Youtube

Amazon Author Page | Goodreads Page

 Buy Your Copy of Boyce’s Books

Win a guest appearance in Heritage (The Grimoire Trilogy #3)

Lichgates

Grab Your Copy:

Amazon: USA | UKGermanyFrance | Spain | Italy

Buy the Paperback | Goodreads | Book Trailer | VIP List 

Treason

Grab Your Copy:

Amazon: USA | UK | Germany |  France | Spain | Italy

Barnes & Noble | Smashwords | Buy the Paperback

Goodreads VIP List 

2 thoughts on “Magic is its currency: author S.M. Boyce takes us inside her acclaimed Grimoire series

  1. Pingback: On the 8th day of xmas, my true love gave to me: 8 magical worlds! | Wynne Channing

Leave a Reply

