Everyone starts somewhere: My first novel (E.T. meets Freddy)

Publishing my first novel has made me think of the first novel I wrote. I was about 12-years-old and the story, entitled Sweet Dreams, was about aliens. It was 183 pages.

Here’s an excerpt from the first chapter:

The doorbell rang. Darlene Devries ran downstairs. “I’ll get it,” she called. Darlene finished buttoning up her red silk shirt. She straightened out her wrinkled black suede skirt and opened the door. There stood Joey Wellington, the most popular guy in school.

Later, Joey takes Darlene to the MC Hammer concert in his pink convertible. (Joey apparently has borrowed Barbie’s car.) A whole bunch of people die. Joey gets torn between three beautiful girls (well, he IS the most popular guy in school). He rescues them from aliens who attack them in their dreams (like extra-terrestrial Freddy Kruegers, I guess). And then wakes up like Dorothy wondering if it was all some crazy nightmare.

That’s right. Bestseller.

Well, all writers started somewhere… What was your first story about?

2 thoughts on “Everyone starts somewhere: My first novel (E.T. meets Freddy)

  1. Love this post! I’m sure I wrote something before this, but my first attempt at a “novel” came in middle school after I’d read Gone with the Wind and Scarlet. (I was strange). I started to write a sequel to Scarlet (the sequel to Gone with the Wind). Sigh. Yes, I was writing fanfic and I didn’t even know it!

Leave a Reply

