The Booker Award, the Look Challenge and the Next Big Thing Blog Hop

When I was young, I hated chain letters. Mostly because of Christopher Pike’s horror novel, Chain Letter. I thought some ghastly fate would befall me if I didn’t pass it on. But in the past few weeks, I’ve been “tagged” by several amazing authors in various games. So chain letters are now compliments!

I’m going to address them all in a single blog post. That’s right, it’s a triptych. Three for one! The Booker Award. The Look Challenge. And The Next Big Thing Blog Hop!

(I’m supposed to tag five authors for each challenge, but in this case, I’m going to tag five authors and he/she may choose which wonderful feature, if any, to participate in.)

TAGGING:

Sherry Soule, former Acquisitions Editor for Crescent Moon Press and best-selling author of the Spellbound series. Her blog offers self-editing tools, tips and inspiration for fiction writers.

Vicki Essex is a proofreader at Harlequin and author of Her Son’s Hero and the upcoming Back to the Good Fortune Diner. Her blog is a great resource for writers.

Sadie Forsythe is the author of the novel The Weeping Empress, an epic fantasy with YA crossover appeal.

Kayla Curry is the founder of the Blogger Book Fair and author of Obsidian: Mystic Stones Series.

Leigh Carron is the author of the upcoming novel, Fat Girl! A Love Story, the first installment of the Perfectly Imperfect series.

The Booker Award

One of my favorite authors, Thomas Winship who pens the exciting Vaempires series, nominated me for the Booker Award, a prize for literary and book-centered blogs.

According to him, if I choose to accept the mission, I have to:

1. Post my five favourite books.

2. Add the Booker Award icon to my blog (or have it tattooed on my torso…DONE!)

3. Nominate others to do the same.

(This message will self-destruct.)

I’m a fickle girl so I will add this disclaimer: these are my favorite books at the moment. I change my mind all of the time.

The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini

A Fine Balance by Rohinton Mistry

Nobody’s Perfect by Anthony Lane

The Road by Cormac McCarthy

The Witches by Roald Dahl

THE LOOK CHALLENGE

Christie Rich, author of the fabulous Elemental Enmity Book series, tagged me in the “Look Challenge.” Because we’re lookers. Kidding. You take your manuscript and find the first instance of the word “look.” Then you post the surrounding paragraphs as an excerpt on your blog.

He probably wants to rob me. My father had warned me about pickpockets in Rome. A few days before my trip, he had come into my room with a bulgy blue fanny pack: “To keep your valuables safe.”

From the corner of my eye I could still see the man’s face pointed in my direction, and I heard my best friend’s voice in my head. Zee, he’s checking you out. See if he’s hot. Ryka had encouraged me to have a summer fling. The only fling I’d ever had with a guy was when Felix Lewis flung me in the air during cheerleading tryouts. “Find someone and have fun,” but avoid the bad guys, she had said. She wanted me to keep my other valuables safe.

Pretending to look back at the clock, I glanced at the fountain. The guy was gone. I searched the piazza but didn’t see him. Too bad. He might have been cute. Would his trying to pick my back pocket count as second base?

The Next Big Thing Blog Hop

Rachel McClellan‘s upcoming memoir Confessions of a Cereal Mother, looks awesome. She tagged me in the Next Big Thing Blog Hop and asked me to answer these 10 questions. So let’s do this thing:

1. What is the title of your book?

I honestly considered calling it “Well.” But I settled with What Kills Me.

2. Where did the idea of your book come from?

My overactive imagination + insomnia = the image of a girl crawling out of a well, covered in blood.

3. What genre(s) does your book fall under?

Paranormal. New adult. Action adventure.

4. What actors would you choose to play the characters in a movie rendition?

Egad. I honestly have no clue. I’d rather let my readers keep imagining the characters as they see them.

5. What is a one sentence synopsis of your book?

A nation of vampires hunt one girl who is destined to kill them all. (Sucks to be her.)

6. Is your book self-published?

Indie and proud!

7. How long did it take you to write the first draft?

Six months.

8. What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

It’s more Hunger Games than Twilight. More a fight for survival than a swooning romance.

9. Who or what inspired you to write this book?

My writing partner, Leigh Carron, has been working tirelessly on her amazing debut novel. She was mega encouraging of my dream.

10. What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

If you can guess the ending, I’ll tattoo the Booker Award on my forehead. Not really. But I’ve been told it’s unpredictable 🙂

2 thoughts on “The Booker Award, the Look Challenge and the Next Big Thing Blog Hop

Leave a Reply

