Destroy the Shadow: Rachel McClellan’s exciting conclusion to the Fractured Light series

Fractured TruthVery excited to announce that Fractured Truth, the final novel in Rachel McClellan’s paranormal,YA Fractured Light trilogy, has just been released! Follow the blog tour to find out more about Fractured Truth and enter for a chance to a signed copy or a $25 Amazon gift card!

I asked Rachel three important questions about the conclusion to her series.

1. What is the hardest thing about writing a trilogy?
There are a couple of things that make writing a trilogy difficult. The first is keeping everything straight. You really have to pay attention to what you wrote in the first book and make sure it’s consistent through all of them. It can also be difficult to make sure each novel is exciting and full of tension, yet isn’t repeating the same conflicts. You have to think of new, realistic scenarios to put your character through and still have these events driving the plot forward.
2. Of all three books, which is your favorite?
Can I have two favorites? I loved Fractured Soul because it showed Llona fighting her dark side. I like books that explore man’s dual nature and how the two are in constant battle with each other. However, I loved Fractured Soul because this is where Llona really discovers who she is and the power she has inside her. I also like the romance in this book more than any of the others.
3. What’s next?
Before the year is up, I will have another book released. It’s a paranormal young adult titled UNLEASHED. It’s much darker than the Fractured Light series and focuses on man’s dual nature. Basically it’s a YA version of Jekyl and Hyde. After that I plan to release a dystopian YA called THE ORIGINAL, which is currently in the editing phases.

Continue reading

Win a crystal-filled ballpoint pen on the I Am Forever tour!

2014-IAmForeverTourBannerA big thank you to everyone who participated in the I Am Forever blog tour which wraps up in a few days. If you missed a stop, you can check out the hosts here or below. There were posts about undead fashion and undead architecture. There were great reviews and fun interviews.

This is your last chance to enter our international giveaway for goodies, including a stunning pink ballpoint pen filled with hundreds of crystals!Crystal penGood luck!

I Am Forever Tour schedule:

Killer Fashion — costume design in I Am Forever

30d58efb804e09b634f22af4270476c9A version of this post appeared on Jennifer’s amazing site, The Bawdy Book Blog. Entitled, Die-Hard Fashion: Style in Wynne Channing’s I Am Forever, I talked about how I wanted the clothing to be part of the story; I wanted it to reflect the emotions of the characters or their evolution. I’ve been pinning images via Pinterest to create a style storyboard. Here are a number of images that I pinned and how they inspired the wardrobe in Book Two. Continue reading

Will there be a third book in the What Kills Me series? Oh yeah.

Tens of thousands of readers have gone on the adventure and I’m happy to say that What Kills Me is a three-book series. I’m plotting book three right now.

In What Kills Me, Book #1, Zee falls into a well filled with blood and emerges a vampire. She finds herself hunted, accused of being the legendary destroyer of the immortal race.

Book two, I Am Forever, continues her adventure and her evolution as the most powerful creature in the world. Two vampire factions are at war and Axelia is caught in the middle, with both sides trying to use her for their own gain.

In book three, the final installment in the series, Axelia comes face-to-face with a terrifying threat to both humanity and the vampire race. Everything that she will have been through prepares her for this ultimate battle.

I know you have a lot of questions:

  • What happens to Zee’s family?
  • What was up with her nightmares? And those red eyes?
  • Is there more to the ancient legends?
  • What are the rebels really after?

To find out, you’ll have to stay tuned! Thanks for the great support and keep those wonderful reviews coming (they’re awesome motivation)!

Re-release: The Secret of Isobel Key

I’ve featured the lovely Jen McConnel and her fab series before. I’m delighted to plug the re-release of her 2012 debut: THE SECRET OF ISOBEL KEY.

SECRET OF ISOBEL KEYBook blurb: Lou is in the middle of a quarter-life crisis. Fresh out of college, she’s unemployed and unsure of herself. But when she gets the chance to escape to Scotland with her best friend, it could be the answer to her quest for self-discovery. The trip is not at all what she expected, especially when her tour guide turns out to be the dreamy historian Brian, and together they embark on a hunt for information about Isobel Key, a woman accused of witchcraft in the seventeenth century.

They set out to learn the truth of the condemned witch, but Lou isn’t prepared for the knowledge that awaits her. She must face her own demons if she has any hope of righting the wrongs of the past.

Flashing between seventeenth century Scotland and a contemporary romance, THE SECRET OF ISOBEL KEY is a mystery that will please readers of all ages.

Learn More

Bloomsbury | Website| Goodreads | Bloomsbury Spark |


Amazon | B&N | Google | iTunes | Kobo | Audible |

Jen McConnel-0034About Jen McConnel

Jen McConnel first began writing poetry as a child. A Michigander by birth, she now lives and writes in the beautiful state of North Carolina. When she isn’t crafting worlds of fiction, she teaches college writing composition and yoga. Once upon a time, she was a middle school teacher, a librarian, and a bookseller, but those are stories for another time. Her debut NA novel, THE SECRET OF ISOBEL KEY, is coming December 2013 from Bloomsbury Spark . Visit  to learn more.

Connect With Jen

| Twitter | Goodreads | Pinterest | Facebook | Blog | Website |

Happy February: the Elemental Enmity Series by Christie Rich

February copyIt’s 2014 and we’re celebrating with an awesome fantasy themed calendar. (This calendar is for the background on your computer.)

Each month will feature a different book or series, so if you want to challenge yourself, try reading each book or series that is featured before each month is over. The series for February is the Elemental Enmity Series by Christie Rich! She is giving away an Amazon gift card and an ebook set of the Elemental Enmity Series, so be sure to enter for your chance to win some great swag!

Click here to download the full size image. Then set as your background! Continue reading